Déjà vu

I have a preoccupation with psychic dreams.

I would like to say I have an occupation with them, but at the moment they’re just preoccupations.

There was a point in my life, mostly high school, where I had perpetual & daily déjà vu.  Things just synched up randomly during my day that I swore to have seen before in my dreams.  My life was like walking though this commercial:

It’s a phenomena that’s faded in time, but gave me a lot of fascination and anxiety, especially when I had a string of dreams about running over people with my car.  Yike.

From Carl Jung – “My thesis then, is as follows: in addition to our immediate consciousness, which is of a thoroughly personal nature and which we believe to be the only empirical psyche (even if we tack on the personal unconscious as an appendix), there exists a second psychic system of a collective, universal, and impersonal nature which is identical in all individuals.”

A collective dreamworld of all human experience and thought is as improbable as sentient life on Mars.

Yet, I look at human evolution and think that psychic connection is possible.  Arthur C. Clarke’s Childhood’s End hypothesizes that the next stage in human evolution is the ascendance of our mind into pure thought.

Look where we’ve come from, a skull of Australopithecus which became extinct about 2 million years ago.

Image

The change in shape of the human head has changed incredibly over 2 million years to compensate for our increasing intellectual power.  See?

Image

Cranial surge is in our chromosomes, I’d say.  The brain is so incredible that no one really understands everything that’s going on inside of it.  You can lose part of one lobe, but not others.  Speaking centers, learning and memory, imagination, emotion, and motor function all derive from one part of the brain or another.  Yet, the saying goes, “We only use about 10% of our brain.”

I like to think the 90% gets unlocked at night, deep in the REM cycle.

I don’t even want to touch my brief episode of sleep paralysis this past week or the phenomena of people who suffer from sleep paralysis and claim that an old hag comes to their bedside at night and sits on their chest.  Yeah, collective unconscious.

It should be noted that some definitions of the word dream are “a succession of involuntary images, thoughts, or emotions passing through the mind during sleep.”

Involuntary psychic dreams, like love at first sight and déjà vu – they’re an affliction.  I’ve been trying it out in my fiction writing for some time, I just hope that the experience of it is less gimmick and more burden.  What happens to a person who believes they have a psychic dream?  They act on it, whether it is good or bad.  Prevent a catastrophe or take the risky chance that could be rewarding.

What’s clear to me is that all of these – psychic dreams, love, déjà vu, the evolution of the homo sapiens, Carl Jung – all of these things work on the belief system of the human being.

I choose to believe in psychic dreams and the collective unconscious.  Life’d be too boring not to.

Tags:

About recalcitrant041

Andrew Babcock has manifest destiny on his mind. The road west is paved with basketball, psychic dreams, passable egg-toast, Dungeons & Dragons, and haiku.

One response to “Déjà vu”

  1. Lil Sis says :

    Ditto, mon frere

Leave a Reply

